Skip to main content

Chairman's Award Series

United Way’s highest honor, the Chairman’s Award of Excellence, was presented to Mohegan Sun in 2015 at our Campaign Celebration. The company is a Platinum level United Way Corporate Benefactor and sponsors a “loaned employee” each year to assist United Way staff. Their weeklong campaign features leadership giving meetings and incentives to team members for contributing. In 2014, Mohegan Sun sponsored the United Way Day of Action at the Coogan Farm Giving Garden when more than 100 of their employees volunteered to clear and till the land and plant vegetables. All produce grown at the garden is donated to the Gemma E. Moran United Way/Labor Food Center.

Other honors in the Chairman's Award Series presented at the Campaign Celebration event include:

  • Keystone of the Community – General Dynamics-Electric Boat and the EB Employees Community Service Association
  • Innovation Award – Charter Oak Federal Credit Union
  • Inspiration Award – Rodney Butler, Mashantucket Pequot Tribal Nation
  • Coordinator of the Year – Melissa Cardin, NLC Insurance Companies
  • School Coordinator of the Year – Cindy Beauregard, Norwich Public Schools
  • School Partner of the Year – Norwich Public Schools
  • New Coordinators of the Year – Joshua Carter and Stacey Moratoya-Pilkington, Mashantucket Pequot Tribal Nation/Foxwoods
  • Heart of the Community – Norwich Public Utilities
  • Corporate Support of the Year – Freeport McMoRan
  • Community Leader of the Year – Zachry Nuclear Engineering
  • Campaign Volunteer of the Year – Joyce Gresh
  • Campaign Committee of the Year – Mashantucket Pequot Tribal Nation/Foxwoods
  • Employee Campaign Performance of the Year - Monsanto
  • Spirit of the Community Award – Pfizer Inc
  • Leadership Giving Campaign of the Year – Applied Physical Sciences
  • Allocations Volunteer of the Year – Jim Newman, MDA-UAW Local 571
  • Non-profit Partner of the Year – Thames River Community Service
  • Retail Partner of the Year -- Walmart
  • City Partner of the Year – City of Groton
  • Town Partner of the Year – Town of Groton
  • Media Partner of the Year – The Day
  • New Partner of the Year – Raymour & Flanigan
  • Labor Partnership Award – MDA-UAW Local 571 and the Metal Trades Council of New London County
  • College Partner of the Year – Connecticut College
  • School Campaign Committee of the Year – Stonington Public Schools
  • Agency Campaign Committee of the Year – Visiting Nurse Association
  • Corporate Benefactor of the Year – Dominion Resources
  • Loyal Company of the Year – SAVA Insurance Group
  • Small Business of the Year – Suisman Shapiro
  • Agency Coordinator of the Year Award – Nancy Cowser, United Community & Family Services