Skip to main content

Chairman's Award Series

United Way’s highest honor, the Chairman’s Award of Excellence, was presented to Mohegan Sun at our Campaign Celebration on May 5, 2017. The company is a Platinum level United Way Corporate Benefactor and sponsors a “loaned employee” each year to assist United Way staff. Their weeklong campaign features leadership giving meetings and incentives to team members for contributing to United Way.

Mohegan Sun employees are actively engaged in the community as volunteers. In honor of their 20th anniversary, they held twenty Days of Caring volunteer projects throughout the community. They serve as Volunteer Readers, distribute food each month at our Mobile Pantry, help out at our Food Center warehouse, set-up for and distribute toys at the Tommy Toy Fund, and serve on many United Way committees. In the past year they have run drives to collect toys, winter coats, and food. Additionally, they donate linens, office supplies, and equipment to share with our partner agencies.

In its 2016-17 United Way Campaign, Mohegan Sun experienced a 23% increase in participation, 82% increase in employee giving, and a 250% increase in Leadership Giving (those donating $1,000 or more annually). In addition, they received a "Breakthrough" Award for topping the $100,000 mark in overall giving.

Other honors in the Chairman's Award Series presented at the Campaign Celebration event include:

  • Community Leader of the Year – General Dynamics-Electric Boat and the EB Employees Community Service Association
  • Innovation Award – Zachry Nuclear Engineering
  • Heart of the Community – Mashantucket Pequot Tribal Nation/Foxwoods Resort Casino
  • United Way Partner of the Year - NLC Insurance Companies
  • Coordinator of the Year – Bonnie Marson, Mohegan Sun
  • School Coordinator of the Year – Nikki Gullickson, Stonington Schools
  • School Partner of the Year – Norwich Public Schools
  • New Coordinator of the Year – Cheryl Harder, Amgraph
  • Corporate Support of the Year – Freeport-McMoRan
  • Campaign Volunteer of the Year – Sherri Biro
  • Special Recognition for Food Center Volunteer - Elmer Taylor
  • Food Center Volunteer of the Year - Maria Loss
  • Community Investment Volunteers of the Year - Chelsea Groton Bank
  • Campaign Committee of the Year – Pfizer Inc.
  • Employee Campaign Performance of the Year - Chelsea Groton Bank
  • Volunteer Partner of the Year - Norwich Public Utilities
  • Leadership Giving Campaign of the Year – Applied Physical Sciences
  • Non-profit Partner of the Year – UCFS
  • Retail Partner of the Year -- Stop & Shop
  • Community Partner of the Year – City of Groton
  • Town Partner of the Year – Ledyar
  • Print Media Partner of the Year – The Day
  • Radio Media Partner of the Year - Full Power Media
  • Law Firm of the Year - Suisman Shapiro
  • Bank Partner of the Year - Dime Bank
  • New Partner of the Year – The Power of Together
  • Labor Partnership Award – MDA-UAW Local 571, the Metal Trades Council of New London County, and Carpenters Local 1302
  • School Campaign Committee of the Year – Montville Public Schools
  • Agency Campaign Committee of the Year – Madonna Place
  • Loyal Company of the Year – Charter Oak Federal Credit Union
  • Small Business of the Year – Shipman's Fire Equipment
  • Agency Coordinators of the Year Award – Jack Malone and Pam Novick, SCADD
  • Agency Speaker of the Year - Pamela Allen Kinder, UCFS
  • Youth Engagement Award - St. Bernard School and students
  • LIVE UNITED Award - SAVA Insurance Group
  • Gemma E. Moran Inspiration Award - Mary LaMattina
  • LIVE UNITED Award for Philanthropy - Carole Marks Scott
  • Outstanding Achievement Awards: Comcast, Norwich Free Academy, and People's United Bank