Skip to main content

Help Feed a Family This Thanksgiving

To celebrate the holiday and help provide a nutritious meal on Thanksgiving, The Gemma E. Moran United Way Labor Food Center is seeking donations for children, families, and individuals in our community struggling with hunger. In addition to turkeys, the Food Center welcomes donations of stuffing, cranberry sauce, canned fruits and vegetables, peanut butter, and canned meat and soups.

One out of every five children in Southeastern Connecticut is food insecure.  Last year, the Food Center was able to distribute 1,852 turkeys to help fill traditional holiday baskets and help support holiday community meal sites. This is your invitation to make a difference on Thanksgiving and help your neighbors through a contribution to the Food Center’s holiday food drive.

Organizations and individuals interested in donating a turkey or non-perishable items can bring donations to the Food Center located at 374 Broad Street in New London, Monday through Friday, between the hours of 7 a.m. to 2 p.m.  Monetary donations are also welcome.

The Gemma E Moran United Way Labor Food Center provides food and household items to more than ninety free food distribution sites throughout New London County. These sites include shelters, food pantries, after-school programs, day care centers, community meal sites, and programs for the elderly.  Last year, the Food Center distributed 2,163,423 pounds of food which is equivalent to 1,664,171 meals. 

United Way of Southeastern Connecticut is advancing the common good by creating opportunities for a better life for all, focusing on helping children to thrive, providing basic human needs, and promoting independence and community wellness. United Way recruits people and organizations that bring the passion, expertise, and resources needed to get things done. Everyone is invited to be part of the change by giving, advocating and volunteering. That’s what it means to Live United.

United Way of Southeastern Connecticut is a locally-based organization serving the 21 towns of New London County.